WSOY AM logo gray-facebook gray-twitter gray-instagram Email

Decatur City Limitless
Top five donating schools announced for Food Drive

Top five donating schools announced for Food Drive

October 11 – Final numbers have been tallied to announce 5th place for schools donating to the 15th Annual WSOY Community Food Drive.


After a close battle, Decatur Eisenhower edged out St. Teresa High School claiming 5th place, raising 42,835 pounds of food. Eisenhower will be awarded $500 for their efforts.


St. Patrick’s School is once again the winner of this year’s Food Drive by raising 153,047 pounds.  They will be awarded $2,500.


Mt. Zion finished 2nd raising 90,812 pounds and will be awarded $1,500, Our Lady of Lourdes finished in 3rd raising 70,316 and will be awarded $1.000. In 4th place raising 45,341, Warrensburg-Latham will be awarded $750.


All cash prizes awarded to schools are provided by the sponsors of the WSOY Community Food Drive. Those companies include JL Hubbard Insurance & Bonds, Soy Capitol Bank, Skeff Distributing, ADM, Jones and Thomas/ JTNet, First Christian Church, Dales Southlake Pharmacy, WAND-TV, Tickets and Trips, Herald and Review, Decatur Back and Neck Center, Dynagraphics/ Wood Printing, WSOY and Kroger.


In addition, Tate & Lyle will award a total of $2500 to the top 5 Decatur Public schools. Those schools are Eisenhower, McArthur High School, Parsons Elementary, Dennis School and Hope Academy.