ESPNDecatur ESPY Finalists To Be Honored Sunday

ESPNDecatur ESPY Finalists To Be Honored Sunday

June 27, 2019  –  This Sunday, the 11th Annual ESPNDecatur ESPY Awards are slated to honor the top high school athletes in Central Illinois. 

Doors open to Richland Community College’s Shilling Center at 5 p.m., with the banquet set for 5:30 p.m. The reception before the banquet will include desserts and drinks. Tickets cost $5, but are free to the finalist athletes, coaches, and athletic directors.

Top awards for the night will be the Most Outstanding Male & Female Athlete, and the Coach of the Year. 

Also honored will be the Player of the Year in 12 sports, and the Male & Female Athlete of the Year in the 17-school coverage area. 



Most Outstanding Male Athlete … 

Ian Benner (Maroa-Forsyth), Michael Fiala (LSA), Austin Fitzpatrick (St. Teresa), Connor Heaton (Central A&M), Grant Karsten (LSA), A.J. Lawson (MacArthur), Jacob Paradee (Central A&M), Skyler Peterson (Argenta-Oreana), Christian Reynolds (Clinton), & Makail Stanley (Argenta-Oreana)


Most Outstanding Female Athlete … 

Mallory Cyrulik (Clinton), Allie Dunn (Central A&M), Taylor Fox (Mt. Zion), Kate Jeffers (Okaw Valley), Dayna Kennedy (Mt. Zion), Ella Mann (Cerro Gordo), Esther Miller (Sullivan), Hallie Mitchell (Maroa-Forsyth), DaeLin Switzer (St. Teresa), & Payne Turney (Clinton)


Coach of the Year … 

Greg Blakey (Mt. Zion Softball), Brad Dalton (St. Teresa Volleyball), Kelly Fox (Mt. Zion Girls Track & Field), Josh Jostes (Maroa-Forsyth Football & Boys Track & Field), Steve Kirk (Argenta-Oreana Football & Boys Track & Field), Jay McAtee (Mt. Zion Volleyball), Sheri McCain (Sullivan Girls Basketball), Mark Ramsey (St. Teresa Football), Connor Smith (St. Teresa Girls Soccer), Rob Smith (Central A&M Boys Basketball), Greg Streeval (Meridian Softball), Todd Vohland (St. Teresa Cross Country & Girls Track & Field), Davis Wegmann (St. Teresa Boys Soccer), & Michael Williams (MacArthur Girls Basketball)


Football Player of the Year … 

Ian Benner (Maroa-Forsyth), Austin Fitzpatrick (St. Teresa), Grant Karsten (LSA), Jacob Paradee (Central A&M), Skyler Peterson (Argenta-Oreana), Derrick Taylor (MacArthur), Josh Williams (Argenta-Oreana), & Jacardia Wright (St. Teresa)


Volleyball Player of the Year … 

Reiley Drake (Mt. Zion), Lexie Huck (St. Teresa), Maggie Huffman (Maroa-Forsyth), Ella Mann (Cerro Gordo), Karlee McAtee (Mt. Zion), Annelise Sparks (Maroa-Forsyth), Ali Vaughn (Mt. Zion), & Sydney Walker (Cerro Gordo)


Boys Soccer Player of the Year … 

Derek Austin (Mt. Zion), Luichi Caceres (St. Teresa), Evan Dawson (Meridian), Brock Kennell (Mt. Zion), Edgar Onate (St. Teresa), Shawn Troike (Warrensburg-Latham/Maroa-Forsyth), Marco Wegmann (MacArthur), & Mattias Wegmann (MacArthur)


Cross Country Runner of the Year … 

Luke Brewer (Bement), Taylor Fox (Mt. Zion), Lilly Griffith (Mt. Zion), Lucy Griffith (Mt. Zion), Veronica Hein (St. Teresa), Emma Mallory (Mt. Zion), Jackson Stewart (St. Teresa), & Payne Turney (Clinton)


Boys Basketball Player of the Year … 

Griffin Andricks (Central A&M), Conner Heaton (Central A&M), Jarius Ingram (Warrensburg-Latham), Jacob Jones (Meridian), Keon Jones (MacArthur), Grant Karsten (LSA), Kaeden Lawary (MacArthur), & R.J. Walker (Eisenhower)


Girls Basketball Player of the Year … 

Mallory Cyrulik (Clinton), Jayda Dees (MacArthur), Quincenia Jackson (MacArthur), Kyla Jones (Eisenhower), Esther Miller (Sulivan), Addison Newbon (St. Teresa), Ashlyn Sturdy (Tri-City/Sangamon Valley), & DaeLin Switzer (St. Teresa)


Wrestler of the Year … Micah Downs (Clinton), Caleb Guise (Eisenhower), Kooper Loehr (Mt. Zion), Ryder Marshall (Mt. Zion), Adam Maxwell (Warrensburg-Latham), Christian Reynolds (Clinton), Makail Stanley (Argenta-Oreana), & Kolby Winter (Clinton)


Baseball Player of the Year … 

Aaron Agee (Maroa-Forsyth), Ian Benner (Maroa-Forsyth), Tre Corley (Maroa-Forsyth), Michael Fiala (LSA), Kelby Golladay (MacArthur), Gannon Harshman (LSA), Skyler Peterson (Argenta-Oreana), & Kyle Rigsby (Argenta-Oreana)


Softball Player of the Year … 

Zoie Bowman (Meridian), Daleny Chumbley (Tri-City/Sangamon Valley), Allie Dunn (Central A&M), Jaycie Edwards (Warrensburg-Latham), Dayna Kennedy (Mt. Zion), Hallie Mitchell (Maroa-Forsyth), Jada Wilson (Warrensburg-Latham), & Kynzie Wrigley (Mt. Zion)


Girls Soccer Player of the Year … 

Reilly Fitzpatrick (Warrensburg-Latham/Maroa-Forsyth), Brenna Frommelt (Mt. Zion), Channing Johnston (Warrensburg-Latham/Maroa-Forsyth), Megan Leighton (Warrensburg-Latham/Maroa-Forsyth), Lauryn Pugh (St. Teresa), Isabella Salefski (LSA), Makenzee Velchek (St. Teresa), Camryn Wagner (St. Teresa), & Lainie Wolter (Mt. Zion)


Boys Track & Field … 

Luke Brewer (Bement), Ben Gilbert (Maroa-Forsyth), Hunter Hartwig (Mt. Zion), Noah Holthaus (Maroa-Forsyth), A.J. Lawson (MacArthur), Jadon Nuzzo (Sullivan), Micha Reed (MacArthur), Makail Stanley (Argenta-Oreana), Boston Stewart (St. Teresa), & Jorden Tedford (Warrensburg-Latham)


Girls Track & Field … 

Sara Addai (Mt. Zion), Noelle DeJaynes (St. Teresa), Fox, Rhiannon Held (Mt. Zion), Chloe Meyer (Meridian), Brittney Oakley (Warrensburg-Latham), Brooke Oakley (Warrensburg-Latham), Morgan Pilate (Mt. Zion), DaeLin Switzer (Argenta-Oreana), & Payne Turney (Clinton)


School Male & Female Athletes of the Year

Argenta-Oreana … Makail Stanley & Cami Newbanks

Bement … Luke Brewer & (No Female Nominated)

Central A&M … Cord Fenton & Allie Dunn

Cerro Gordo … Brady Greenwood & Ella Mann

Clinton … Micah Downs & Payne Turney

Eisenhower … Caleb Guise & Markesha Jackson

LSA … Grant Karsten & Isabella Salefski

MacArthur … Jeffery Wells & Quincenia Jackson

Maroa-Forsyth … Ty Martin & Reilly Fitzpatrick

Meridian … Jacob Jones & Kaelee Stockton

Mt. Zion … Kooper Loehr & Dayna Kennedy

Okaw Valley … Sam Hagerman & Madison Vogel

Sangamon Valley … (No Male Nominated) & Taylor Page

St. Teresa … Jacardia Wright & DaeLin Switzer

Sullivan … Caden Ellis & Esther Miller

Tri-City … Grant Altig & Anna Sagle

Warrensburg-Latham … Jorden Tedford & Brittney Oakley