Local High School Basketball Coaches Earn IBCA Coach of the Year

Local High School Basketball Coaches Earn IBCA Coach of the Year

May 8 – St. Teresa’s Head Boys Basketball Coach, Tom Noonan, has been named as the 2018 Illinois Basketball Coaches Association (IBCA) Coach of the Year for district 15.

This is the second time Noonan has earned the honor. He previous received the award in 2015. The Illinois Basketball Coaches Association strives to grow basketball in Illinois through a variety of capacities. Each year, the IBCA honors players and coaches throughout the state for their success on the court and their contributions to the game.

“Coach Noonan has done an excellent job building and maintaining, one of the best programs in this area,” said Todd Vohland, St. Teresa Athletic Director.” “He is very deserving of this honor.” Noonan has coached 14 seasons at St. Teresa with the last eight as head coach.

During his time as head coach, Noonan has an overall record of 168-60, won three conference championships, two regional championships, one sectional title, one super-sectional title, and the 2015 State runner-up.

In addition to Noonan, there were several other local coaches that were deemed Coaches of the Year. Those winners include:

  • Rob Smith – Central A&M (1A Boys)
  • Tom Saunches – LSA (1A Boys)
  • Tony Nika – Tri-City Sangamon Valley (2A Girls)
  • Brad Ackers – Okaw Valley (1A Girls)