WSOY AM logo gray-facebook gray-twitter gray-instagram Email

Decatur City Limitless
DPS announces the first group to be inducted into their Hall of Fame

DPS announces the first group to be inducted into their Hall of Fame

July 20 – Ten individuals, Decatur’s most successful boys basketball head coach and an undefeated football team will be the charter class inducted in Decatur Public School’s Athletic Hall of Fame.


The induction ceremony will take place Saturday, August 27th when Eisenhower and MacArthur play at 3:00pm at Frank M. Lindsay Field at Millikin University for the Tate & Lyle Braggin’ Rights Game.


Michael Dugan, interim co-superintendent of District 61, presided over the committee meeting where administrators, retired coaches and media representatives selected the class.


“We are thrilled with the quality the selection committee has come up with for our inaugural athletic Hall of Fame class,” says Dugan. “Their picks provide a great balance for inductees with all schools represented–Decatur High/Stephen Decatur, Eisenhower, Lakeview and MacArthur.”


In alphabetical order, these are the former Decatur Public School athletes selected for induction: Ken Barnes, Marsha Bond, Hubie Carter, Wayne Dunning, Penny Hammel, Bill Madlock, Mark Malley, Rudy Phillips, Lee Sentman Jr. and Deana Simmons.


In addition, the committee selected Gay Kintner to be recognized for all his achievements at Decatur High where his teams won three state championships. And the committee agreed Lakeview’s 1965 undefeated football team should be enshrined as well. That was before the Illinois High School Association created the football playoffs.


Dugan says he’s enthused about the quality and depth of the class.


“These men and women excelled in their respective sports as student-athletes in the Decatur school district of which we could not be more proud for what they achieved here and after they left us,” says Dugan.


In addition, he also praised the committee for their recommendation to include a coach and a team with their picks of Kintner and the 1965 undefeated Lakeview football team.


This is the first of two groups to be enshrined this school year as a second class will be selected and inducted during either the January or February Eisenhower-MacArthur basketball games.


DPS encourages anyone interested in nominating athletes can click here where the electronic nomination form is located.